Ampthill Town v Radlett CC 2nd XI on Sat 30 May 2009 at 12.30 p.m.
Radlett CC Won by 5 wickets

Match report The Radlett 2nd team at Ampthill on 30.5.09 included Anish Patel, displaced from his selected place in the 1st XI by the late availability of Gareth Berg. To create this place, Shamit Nathwani moved from the 2nd team to the 3rd.

The weather was dry, sunny and breezy. The wicket looked good, and the outfield was fast. Ampthill Town 1st XI won the toss, and decided to bat.

Johnson Mafa and Stuart Browne opened the bowling for RCC. Ampthill's opening pair of batsmen scored quickly off Johnson's first three overs, but he destroyed the partnership by clean bowling both of them in his 4th over. Stuart also took a wicket in his next over to leave Ampthill at 42-3 from 8 overs.

After bowling 6 overs for two wickets and 34 runs, Johnson handed over to Lee Fortis. Following Lee's 1-30 in five overs, John Barr came on as second change, Ampthill having reached 94-4 off 22 overs. David Hegarty replaced Stuart Browne when the score had reached 109-4 off 25 overs. Stuart's figures for his first spell were 1-31 off 12 overs. John Barr took two wickets, including that of Ampthill's top scorer, Phil Clark, from a fine catch by David Robinson.

With the score at 148-6 off 39 overs, Stuart Browne and Johnson Mafa returned to the attack, bowling from the opposite ends to their first spells. The Ampthill tail promptly collapsed to an all out total of 162 from 46 overs. Stuart's and Johnson's second spell analyses were 3-6 off four overs and 1-8 off 3 overs repsectively.

Radlett took three catches, but dropped two other chances.

Since the Ampthill innings did not last for the full 53 overs allocated for the first innings, the remaining overs were added to the 47 overs normally used for the second innings. This gave Radlett a total of 54 overs in which to score a winning total. [If Ampthill had managed to bat for the full 53 overs, the time allowed for the Radlett innings would have been reduced considerably. Subtracting the time taken for drinks intervals, etc, Radlett finished their 46th and last over about eight minutes inside the three hours allowed them to bowl 53 overs. This suggests that they might have bowled only 50 overs within the three hour limit. The missing three overs could have been subtracted from the nominal 47 for the second innings, leaving Radlett only 44 overs to score their runs.]

Half time result: Ampthill Town 4 batting bonus points, Radlett 10 bowling bonus points.

Ashley Tillett and Nick Fielden opened Radlett's innings against Ampthill's opening bowlers, Chris Degman and Paul Woodruffe. (Paul W, ex High Wycombe CC, has considerable HCPL and minor counties experience, and seems to have lost little of his skill.) Ashley fell in over 4. Simon Randall took his place, batting cautiously till he was out for 13 in over 18. Nick continued to bat steadily at one end, but the next two wickets fell quite quickly, due to some excellent catching by the Ampthill fielders. David Robinson, who was suffering from an intermittent muscle spasm in his back, began his innings at No 6, but had to retire after five overs.

At this point, the score was only 79-4 off 30 overs, with some doubt over David's ability to resume his innings. Lee Fortis joined Nick, and they began to increase the scoring rate gradually. Nick was bowled at 112-5 in over 40 for 60, and Lee and Johnson Mafa set about the bowling, passing Ampthill's total during over 48 for no further loss. Johnson relied mainly on drives for the five boundaries in his score of 25. Lee mixed his drives with a succession of (daringly late) late cuts, collecting one 6 and five fours in his not out 29. Radlett finished, rather unusually, with three Not Out batsmen.

The tight Ampthill bowling restricted Radlett's scoring rate for much of the innings, and could have given Ampthill a draw if the Radlett innings had not received the overs remaining from the first innings. As it was, Radlett received 30 points for the win, and Ampthill added five bowling bonus points to their four earlier batting bonus points.

Ampthill Town Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
162 (0.0 overs)
Simon Morrell b  Johnson Mafa 8
Gary Ruppin b  Johnson Mafa 19
David Gould ct  Ben Charles Bowled Lee Fortis 19
Lee Archer lbw  Stuart Browne 5
Phil Clark ct  David Robinson Bowled John Barr 46
Danny Thompson b  John Barr 16
Chris Esh lbw  Stuart Browne 19
Neil Battams b  Stuart Browne 3
Paul Woodruffe b  Johnson Mafa 4
Chris Degman Not Out  4
Derek Salt ct  and bowled Stuart Browne 4

Radlett CC 2nd XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Johnson Mafa9.0142314.004.67
Stuart Browne16.033749.252.31
Lee Fortis5.0030130.006.00
John Barr9.0224212.002.67
David Hegarty7.002100.003.00

Radlett CC 2nd XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 5 wickets
Ashley Tillett lbw  Paul Woodruffe 7
Nick Fielden b  Derek Salt 60
Simon Randall lbw  Paul Woodruffe 13
John Barr ct  Dave Gould Bowled Chris Degman 4
Anish Patel ct  Derek Salt Bowled Chris Degman 7
David Robinson Retired Not Out  4 1
Lee Fortis Not Out  29
Johnson Mafa Not Out  25
David Hegarty   Did not bat
Ben Charles   Did not bat 1
Stuart Browne   Did not bat 1

Ampthill Town Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :