Radlett CC 2nd XI v Knebworth Park II on Sat 06 Jun 2009 at 12.30 p.m.
Radlett CC Won by 3 wickets

Match report From Knebworth: SHAUN Robinson's young Knebworth Park II came close to toppling a highly experienced and powerful Radlett 2nd team which sneaked home by three wickets to move in to second place in Division Two of the Saracens Herts League.

In a game reduced because of an area where the water had run off the covers, the Park were up against the guile of long-term former first team opening bowler Stuart Brown and the raw pace of South African Johnson Mafa. Opening bat Colin Letford (16) had started well, but soon they were 32-3.

Adam Sergeant took a painful blow from a bouncer on the elbow but battled on for a resilient 15.

Then young guns Haydon Bartlett-Tasker (36) and Tom Eaton (24) impressively lifted the total and then a final flourish from skipper Robinson took Knebworth Park to 156-8 in 45 overs setting Radlett a challenging target in 39 overs.

Bill Thorne picked up the early wicket of Ashley Tillett which brought to the crease Felix Walker.

He struck a whirlwind 50 partnership in a second wicket stand with skipper Nick Fielden (28) that had Radlett racing at 74 off the first 10 overs before Robinson introduced himself to the attack and immediately removed the hard-hitter.

His slow medium bowling took 5-43 in 11 overs and, in partnership with veteran Graham Fisher (1-37 in 11 overs) reduced the home side to 105-7.

A crucial dropped catch and close lbw calls did not go their way. Narrow margins which could have helped snatch a win. In the end, the eighth wicket pair of Lee Fortis (26no) and Mafa (25no) skilfully saw Radlett home to 157-7.

Knebworth Park II Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 8 wickets
156 (0.0 overs)
Colin Letford ct  James Lewis Bowled Johnson Mafa 16
Josh Roseberry ct  James Lewis Bowled Johnson Mafa 2
Adam Sergant ct  Johnson Mafa Bowled John Barr 15
Kyle Dix b  Johnson Mafa 4
Hayden Bartlett-Tasker b  Haydn Smith 36
Tom Eaton b  Stuart Browne 24
Matt Hutchinson ct  Haydn Smith Bowled Felix Walker 7
Sean Robinson Not Out  36
Bill Thorne b  Haydn Smith 1
Graham Fisher Not Out  2
Andy Holmes   Did not bat

Radlett CC 2nd XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Johnson Mafa7.0036312.005.14
Stuart Browne10.0125125.002.50
Lee Fortis5.011700.003.40
John Barr6.0022122.003.67
Haydn Smith10.0322211.002.20
Felix Walker7.0227127.003.86

Radlett CC 2nd XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 7 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Ashley Tillett ct  Kyle Dix Bowled Bill Thorne 8
Nick Fielden b  Sean Robinson 28
Felix Walker ct  Andy Holmes Bowled Sean Robinson 50
John Barr ct  Colin Letford Bowled Sean Robinson 8
James Lewis ct  Andy Holmes Bowled Graham Fisher 2 2
Haydn Smith ct  Colin Letford Bowled Sean Robinson 0 1
Shamit Nathwani b  Sean Robinson 0
Lee Fortis Not Out  26
Johnson Mafa Not Out  25 1
Ben Charles   Did not bat
Stuart Browne   Did not bat

Knebworth Park II Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Bill Thorne5.0039139.007.80
Kyle Dix5.002700.005.40
Sean Robinson11.024358.603.91
Graham Fisher11.3237137.003.22
Matt Hutchinson1.00600.006.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :